The American Experience (1993) - TV Series documentary

Release Date: 18 January 1993 (USA)


Episode: "Simple Justice"


Director: Helaine Head
Writers: Richard Kluger (nonfiction book "Simple Justice"), John McGreevey (story), Avon Kirkland, Peter Cook 


Running time: 60 minutes




Michael Burgess - Horace Durham
Peter Francis James - Thurgood Marshall
Donald Chambers - Archer Felder
Scott Whitehurst - Oliver Hill
James Avery - Charles Hamilton Houston
Denise Burse - Buster Marshall
Wayne Dehart - Rev Rovey
Dale Wright - Mrs. Moody

Diana Scarwid - Louisa Holt

... and many more




The story of Thurgood Marshall and the NAACP's effort to integrate public schools in the south, Simple Justice, based closely on Richard Kluger's book of the same name, recounts the remarkable legal strategy and social struggle that resulted in the US Supreme Court's landmark ruling in Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka. The Court's decision not only struck down segregated schools on the basis of race, but announced finally that America had begun to face the consequences of its dehumanizing social practice. In 1896, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled in Plessy v. Ferguson that racial segregation along "separate but equal" terms was constitutional. Thirty years later, Charles Hamilton Houston took over Howard University's run-down segregated law school with the idea of training a cadre of elite African American lawyers who would wipe out the legal basis for segregation once and for all. Houston shaped the minds and the strategy that would triumph over segregation, but he wouldn't live to ... Written by Avon Kirkl